We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.



  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €6 EUR  or more


Soere molke 06:57
Swellen 03:48


CD and LP available here:

FEAN II is the following of the first opus released on Moving Furniture Records in 2018, from some materials of the improvisatory collective FEAN based around Jan Kleefstra (voice, poems), Romke Kleefstra (guitar, bass and effects), Mariska Baars (vocals) and Rutger Zuydervelt (electronics) from Netherlands, joined by the Belgian musicians Annelies Monseré (church organ, keyboard), Sylvain Chauveau (tuned percussion, radio) and Joachim Badenhorst (acoustic and amplified clarinet, bass clarinet, saxophone). Like The Alvaret Ensemble, this project is the result of some improvisations in a Church. But at not the same place.

The FEAN project gets its inspiration from the ecological decay of peatland in the Dutch province Friesland and in other parts of Europe. Agriculture and peat extraction are threatening the landscape severely and with long term consequences. This forms the underlying thought for the improvised recording sessions, which were overseen by Jan Switters. Although the Piiptsjilling members are obviously used to perform and record together, adding the three Belgian guests (who didn’t play together before) added an extra dimension to the group’s dynamics, resulting in a concentrated yet playful series of improvisations, that were later mixed and edited for the project.

For laaps, that’s was an obvious choice to continue the exquisite corpse project with FEAN and a part of the same members than the first release, just before to move to the Spring season and some news bridges, colors and sounds imprints to come.


released March 17, 2020

Mariska Baars: vocals
Joachim Badenhorst: acoustic and amplified clarinet, bass clarinet, saxophone
Sylvain Chauveau: tuned percussion, radio
Annelies Monseré: church organ, keyboard
Jan Kleefstra: words, vocals
Romke Kleefstra: guitars, bass, effects
Rutger Zuydervelt: electronics

Recorded at the St. Thomas church, Ketlik, the Netherlands, by Jan Switters, April 3/4 2018
Mixed and edited by Rutger Zuydervelt

Artwork by Jürgen Heckel
Mastered by Lawrence English
Design by Sprflxgrfzm
English translations by Vivien D. Glass

FEAN is a Popfabryk production,
with support from It Fryske Gea and the Province of Fryslân
Co-produced by Never Ending Orchestra


all rights reserved



Machinefabriek Schiedam, Netherlands

Rutger Zuydervelt

contact / help

Contact Machinefabriek

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like II, you may also like: