We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by Piiptsjilling

Winterrude 07:47
Fiskersbloed 05:54
Delstrutsen 03:34
Smjunt 07:04
Lykmoedigens 12:18
Storein 07:59


Piiptsjilling consists of Jan & Romke Kleefstra (Alvaret Ensemble, Kleefstra|Bakker|Kleefstra, etc.), Mariska Baars (soccer Commitee) and Rutger Zuydervelt (Machinefabriek). They combine poetry with vocals, guitars and electronics. Whether in the studio or live, they always improvise. Without much discussion, they just start, and the music magically pours out, sometimes ethereally beautiful and at other times abstract and noisy. Jan Kleefstra’s poems are in Frisian, a language most listeners won’t literally understand, but can just as well be experienced on a musical level, adding a sense of mysterious melancholy to the music.

‘Fiif’ doesn’t so much mark a new chapter for the band, but rather an organic progression of their sound. There’s a rougher edge to it then on previous albums like ‘Wurdskrieme’ (Experimedia, 2010) or ‘Moarntiids’ (Midira, 2014), and Mariska’s vocals have gained an even more important role.


released June 23, 2017

Jan Kleefstra: poems, vocals
Romke Kleefstra: guitars, effects
Mariska Baars: vocals
Rutger Zuydervelt: effects, electronics, editing

Recorded by Jan Switters at Studio Landscape
Gau, The Netherlands, August 24 and 25, 2016
Mastered by Lawrence English at 158

Cover painting: ‘Being 1’ by Mariska Baars
Acrylics and chalk on linen 18x24 cm

Published by Peter Foolen Editions, 2017


all rights reserved



Machinefabriek Schiedam, Netherlands

Rutger Zuydervelt

contact / help

Contact Machinefabriek

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Fiif, you may also like: